Ginsburg Award

To honour the late Mr Lazar Ginsburg, a founder member of SAAFoST and pioneer of fruit and vegetable refrigeration, SAAFoST instituted the above award of R5,000-00 for the best poster presented at a SAAFoST Biennial Congress. All Congress participants under the age of 35 reporting on actual research in the fields of food science and technology (basic or applied) carried out by them in South Africa will be considered. The prize will be given to the presenter of the poster. If there is more than one author it is up to the authors to agree how the prize is to be shared.

Posters for adjudication will be pre-selected by the Congress Organising Committee on the basis of submitted abstracts. Adjudication will be carried out by a confidential panel of four adjudicators under the chairmanship of a suitably qualified person appointed by the Congress Organising Committee Chairman. Authors will not be advised whether their posters have been pre-selected for adjudication and the decision of the adjudication panel is final.

Award Recipients

2017 Ngwekazi Mehlomakulu (UP)
2015 Kara Muller (UP)
2013 Franklin Apea Bah (UP)
2010 Monique Muller (UP)
2007 Celeste Pretorius (UP)
2005 Mariza Botha (US)
2003 Minah Phadi (UP)
2001 Renate Roux van der Merwe, Jacqueline Badenhorst, Marthie Smit, Martin Tjatji (TUT)
1999 Onicha O'Kennedy (US)
1997 Gerda Lombard (UP)
1995 Louis J Raubenheimer & Willem C Botha (UFS)
1993 Lizette Kuyper (CSIR:Foodtek)
1991 Frans Gous (CSIR:Foodtek)

TUT - Tshwane University of Technology
UFS - University of the Free State
UP - University of Pretoria
US - University of Stellenbosch