SAAFoST Undergraduate Bursary

2nd year +.

The South African Association for Food Science and Technology (SAAFoST) Foundation is inviting interested students to apply for full term bursaries in the field of Food Science and Technology. SAAFoST Foundation is offering bursaries for full-time undergraduate food science and technology students, awarded on the basis of academic merit, employment equity, and demonstrated potential.

Bursary Eligibility Criteria:

The selection of candidates is based on the following criteria:

  • Preference will be given to students who excel academically and / or demonstrate potential.
  • Applicants must be enrolled for full time undergraduate study for a first degree or diploma in the field of Food Science and Technology at a South African Tertiary Institution, and be in a position to complete his / her chosen study programme within the prescribed period of the relevant South AfricanTertiary institution or following period:

    Study Programme Maximum Period
    Undergraduate Degree (upto B.Sc (Hons) 3 years
    B. Tech Degree 4 years
    Diploma 3 years

  • Applicants must be South African or permanent resident citizens who have been resident in South Africa for at least 3 years prior to application.
  • Applicants must have been a member of SAAFoST for at least 12 months preceding the application.
  • Applicants will be required to provide a written personal statement of not more than 1 A4 page outlining how their education and training in the field of food science and technology will make a positive difference in their lives and in the scientific community.
  • Applicants will be required to submit a reference that speaks of the applicant's character. The reference letter will be written by someone at the Tertiary institution who has known the applicant in a learning capacity.
  • Applications will be reviewed by the SAAFoST Foundation, whose decision is final and binding.

Bursary Package

The bursary includes financial assistance for the following:

  • Actual tuition fees levied by the tertiary institution as per a statement of account issued by the institution in the name of the student up to a maximum of R35 000.00 per annum until graduation. The payment is made directly to the Tertiary institution yearly in two instalments; the first instalment being subject to a satisfactory final mark for the previous year of study and the second instalment being subject to satisfactory results in the first semester.

Bursary Conditions

  • The student will be required to sign a contract as acceptance of and agreement to the conditions outlined below:
  • Granting of bursaries is not automatic and SAAFoST Foundation reserves the right not to award a bursary.
  • Only students who apply within the specified date and have fully completed the required application forms and whose registrations have been accepted by a university will be considered.
  • The student will be required to provide the SAAFoST Foundation with a six monthly report and exam results outlining the highlights of the year's study including participation in SAAFoST activities.
  • The bursary will at the sole discretion of the SAAFoST Foundation be converted into a loan repayable in equal instalments, as determined by the SAAFoST Foundation, at the prime rate of interest if, without formal permission of the SAAFoST Foundation:

    • The student terminates or interrupts his / her studies, without formal permission for the interruption of studies
    • The student does not complete his / her studies within the period stated above
    • The student fails any year or semester of study.
  • Should the recipient not successfully complete all of the stipulated courses in any bursary year or not successfully complete any outstanding subjects as supplementary examinations prior to the commencement of the following academic year, then at the sole discretion of the SAAFoST Foundation the bursary may be suspended for the following year with the proviso that, should the recipient successfully complete all of the courses in that subsequent year including any carried over courses from the previous year, then the SAAFoST Foundation will refund to the recipient, all suspended tuition fees and the bursary shall then continue as before, however, no repeated courses, subjects, or modules shall be paid for by the SAAFoST Foundation.

Annual Application Deadlines

Application Closing Date
Review Period
Award Announced
15 January 2018
January - February 2018
February 2018

Completed Applications must be FAXED OR E-MAILED to the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer and a HARDCOPY of the application must also be mailed to the address below.

Enquiries and Application Submissions

Return by e-mail or fax to the Membership Development Officer:

The SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
PO Box 35233
Menlo Park
Tel: (012) 349 2788
Fax: (086) 698 4784

Application Administration:


Ensure that you provide the following with your completed application form:

  • A head & shoulders passport size photograph of yourself
  • A certified copy of your ID book or RSA passport
  • A certified copy of your most recent academic results (Part C)
  • Personal Statement (Part D)
  • Reference Letter (Part D)
  • Proof of registration at Tertiary Institution for 2018


Application Form

Bursaries Awarded

Bursary Recipient University Bursary Type Bursary Duration Qualification
Kayla SteynStellenboschUndergrad2016 - 2017
Paula SmitStellenboschUndergrad2016 - 2017
Nicoline MoelichStellenboschMatric2016 - 2019
Delia MeyerStellenboschMatric2016 - 2019
Rochelle KeetStellenboschUndergrad2016 - 2017
Annette GrobbelaarStellenboschMatric2016 - 2019
Clarice GomesStellenboschUndergrad2016 - 2017
Courtney v d WesthuizenPretoriaUndergrad2016 - 2017
Sylvia MnisiJohannesburgUndergrad2016
Shanece RamkissonDurbanUndergrad2016
Tremaine NaikerDurbanUndergrad2016
Moniska ClaassenCape PeninsulaUndergrad2016 - 2019
Christine van NiekerkStellenboschUndergrad2015BSc
Stephanie PhelpsStellenboschMatric2015 - 2018
Aroline BurseyStellenboschMatric2015 - 2018
Jani BisshchoffStellenboschMatric2015 - 2018
Ndamulelo PhongoJohannesburgUndergrad2015 - 2016
Minenhle KhozaJohannesburgUndergrad2015BTech
Nonsikelelo NkomoDurbanUndergrad2015 - 2016
Tumisang LesoTshwaneUndergrad2014 - 2017
Kirstin MapstoneStellenboschUndergrad2014 - 2015
Alexandra RustStellenboschMatric2014 - 2017
Celia WaltersStellenboschMatric2014 - 2017
Kayla-Ann JordaanStellenboschMatric2014 - 2017
Lindsay HoggPretoriaUndergrad2014BSc Hon
Tumelo ShokweJohannesburgUndergrad2014 - 2015BTech
Felix BekkerStellenboschUndergrad2013 - 2014BSc
Emma PhillipsStellenboschMatric2013 - 2016
Nomzamo DlaminiPretoriaMatric2013 - 2016
Mzwanele StotoCape PeninUndergrad2013 - 2015BTech
Francois OlivierStellenboschUndergrad2012 - 2013BSc
Carin-Marie EngelbrechtStellenboschMatric2012 - 2015BSc
Sizo MsiphaPretoriaMatric2012 - 2015BSc Hon
Nabilah LuckanCape PeninsulaMatric2011 - 2014BTech
Bianca Lee KingPretoriaMatric2011 - 2014BSc Hon
Lesego MolatlhegiStellenboschMatric2011 - 2016
Fiona RolstoneStellenboschUndergrad2011 - 2012BSc
Lindie van WykPretoriaMatric2010 - 2013BSc Hon
Claire KirkbyStellenboschMatric2010 - 2013BSc
Kara MullerStellenboschMatric2010 - 2013BSc
Stephanie BosmanStellenboschUndergrad2010 - 2012BSc
Adrian ThornePretoriaMatric2009 - 2012BSc
Suhina RamsurajDurbanMatric2008 - 2011B-Tech
Nandi StrachanStellenboschMatric2008 - 2011BSc
Liezel HugoCape PeninsulaMatric2007 - 2010BTech