Pieter van Twisk Academic Achievement Award

The SAAFoST Foundation makes available an award of a certificate and an amount of R2 000 annually for the most deserving students at each of eight South African tertiary institutions.

Awards are based on results obtained in the final year of study, for a completed first degree in Food Science from the Universities of Pretoria, Stellenbosch, Venda and the Free State or a completed diploma in Food Technology at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, the Tshwane University of Technology and the University of Johannesburg. Only the Tertiary Institutions listed above may nominate candidates for this award.


The students must have been members of SAAFoST for at least 12 months preceding the application. Nominations and recommendations by the Department Heads, based on academic excellence must reach the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer by 15 February each year. The student should have a record of academic distiction and maintain an average of at least 70% in their previous academic year. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee's academic record for the final year of study. Only one student per tertiary Institution can be nominated and awards cannot be shared and are not transferable. The SAAFoST Foundation will adjudicate the nominations and their decision will be final. The award will be presented at a meeting of the local branch of SAAFoST or at another suitable SAAFoST event. Payment will be made to the nominee.

Enquiries and Application Submissions:

Return by e-mail or fax to the Membership Development Officer, by 15 February 2019.

SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
PO Box 35233
Menlo Park
Tel: (012) 349 2788
Fax: (086) 698 4784
E-mail: saafost.irene@telkomsa.net

Application Administration:


Ensure that you provide the following documentation with the completed nomination form:

  • A copy of nominees complete academic record for all the previous study years;
CLOSING DATE: 15 February 2019

Application Form

Award Recipients

2018 Aphelele Pandle (CPUT)
2018 Toluwase Adedoja (UFS)
2018 Kamogelo Nkgodi (UJ)
2018 Anthony Jenvey (UP)
2018 Banza Kalenga (TUT)
2018 Rochelle Keet (SUN)
2017 Jolene van der Merwe (CPUT)
2017 Rita Myburg (UFS)
2017 Jolen van der Merwe (CPUT)
2017 Rita Myberg (UFS)
2017 Unarine Ndau (UJ)
2017 Kgomatso Dhlanagamandla (UP)
2017 Kate Turner (US)
2016 Dalene Marshall (CPUT)
2016 Sylvia Mnisi (UJ)
2016 Sibongile Mndebele (UP)
2016 Megan Twentyman-Jones (US)
2015 Lebohang Matsoso (UJ)
2015 Janie van Deventer (US)
2015 Precious Xulu (DUT)
2015 Tineman Barnard (TUT)
2015 Claudie Amorim (UP)
2014 Nettania Blom (CPUT)
2014 Malgorzata Milaniak (UP)
2014 Francois Olivier (US)
2014 Joelle Kongolo (TUT)
2013 Yvonne Maphoza (CPUT)
2013 Motsiri Lebea (UJ)
2013 Malory Links (UP)
2013 Stephanie Bosman (US)
2012 Riana van Rensburg (CPUT)
2012 Zanele Shongwe (DUT)
2012 Jeremiah Molelekoa (TUT)
2012 Gabatshoane Madisa (UJ)
2012 Courtney Robertson (UP)
2012 Melanie Pitout (US)
2011 Mmaphuti Ratau (CPUT)
2011 Sharon Masina (DUT)
2011 Moses Madende (UFS)
2011 Petra Muller (UP)
2011 Nina van Schalkwyk (US)
2010 Ruth L Rother (CPUT)
2010 Romy Hochfeld (UP)
2010 Lehana Steyn (US)
2009 Kimberley Jones (CPUT)
2009 Johannes J Du Preez (UFS)
2009 Geraldine Duhain (UP)
2009 Ilona S Koch (US)
2008 Lusani N Vhangani (CPUT)
2008 Roohee Cassim (DUT)
2008 Philip Nel (UFS)
2008 Landi van Zyl (UP)
2008 Megan Whitehead (US)
2008 Ronel Olivier (TUT)
2007 Loyiso Mtalana (CPUT)
2007 Leanne Dickens (UFS)
2007 Celeste Pretorius (UP)
2007 Melvi Todd (US)
2006 Andrea Walter (CPUT)
2006 Kirosha Nair (DUT)
2006 Lutendo Nemugumoni (UFS)
2006 Mandisa Mlawuza (UFS)
2006 Aruina v d Walt (UP)
2006 Donna- Maree Cawthorn (US)
2006 Silnia Badenhorst (TUT)
2005 Danie Jansen v Rensburg (CPUT)
2005 Selelo Sekgala (CPUT)
2005 Thomas Steynberg (UFS)
2005 Muneera Said (UFS)
2005 Francel Lamprecht (UP)
2005 Kelly J Wainwright (US)