Aubrey Parsons Study Grant

Full Time Student.

The SAAFoST Foundation makes available an Aubrey Parsons study grant for each of the Departments of Food Science at the Universities of Stellenbosch, Pretoria, Venda and the Free State and the Departments of Food Technology at Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, the Tshwane University of Technology and the University of Johannesburg, based on performance, to the total value of R20 000 each, for the B.Sc(Hons) year(s) at Universities or the B-Tech year(s)at Universities of Technology. However, irrespective of how many years said B.Sc(Hons) or B.Tech actually take only a total of R 20 000 will be made available to a student.


The students must have been members of SAAFoST for at least 12 months preceding the application. Nominations and recommendations by the Department Heads, based firstly on academic excellence and secondly, on need, must reach the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer by 15 February each year. The students should have an undisputed record of academic distinction, and maintain an average of at least 70% in their previous academic years. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee's academic record for the previous academic years. Only one student per Tertiary Institution can be nominated and awards cannot be shared and are not transferable.

The SAAFoST Foundation will adjudicate the nominations and their decision will be final. The award will be presented at a meeting of the local branch of SAAFoST or at another suitable SAAFoST event. Payment will be made to the institution towards the fees.

Enquiries and Application Submissions:

Return by e-mail or fax to the Membership Development Officer, by 15 February 2019.

The SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
PO Box 35233
Menlo Park
Tel: (012) 349 2788
Fax: 086 698 4784

Application Administration:


Ensure that you provide the following documentation with the completed nomination form:

  • A copy of nominees complete academic record for all previous years;
  • Proof of Full time registration;

CLOSING DATE: 15 February 2019

Nomination Form

Award Recipients

2018 Aphelele Pandle (CPUT)
2018 Rohde Binneman (UFS)
2018 Kamogelo Nkgodi (UJ)
2018 Anhony Jenvey (UP)
2018 Cashior Setumo (TUT
2018 Emma van der Merwe (SUN)
2017 Ukhona Zwane (CPUT)
2017 Quraisha Akoo (DUT)
2017 Zanele Mnizi (UJ)
2017 Kgomotso Dhlanagamandla (UP)
2017 Rochelle Keet (US)
2016 Dalene Marshall (CPUT)
2016 Katlego Masebe (UJ)
2016 Sibongile Mndebele (UP)
2016 Kate Turner (US)
2016 Khudtadzo Ngoma (Venda)
2015 Tumelo Shokwe (UJ)
2015 Megan Twentyman-Jones (US)
2015 Nkatuku Huma (DUT)
2015 Claudia Amorim(UP)
2015 Joelle Kongolo (TUT)
2014 Nettania Blom (CPUT)
2014 Neil Miller (US)
2014 Majolie Djokam-Kamga (TUT)
2013 Yvonne Maphosa (CPUT)
2013 Khanyisa Ndleve (UJ)
2013 Malgorzata Milaniak (UP)
2013 Margareta Muller (US)
2013 Nomsa Chimuti (Venda)
2012 Vusi Mshayisa (CPUT)
2012 Sharon Masina (DUT)
2012 Gabatshoane Madisa (UJ)
2012 Richard Beardsley (UP)
2012 Sarah Erasmus (US)
2011 Yourisha Pillay (DUT)
2011 Kudzai Mangoma (UP)
2011 Karo Bester (US)
2009 Thando Culayo (CPUT)
2009 Romy Hochfeld (UP)
2009 Lehana Steyn (US)
2008 Kimberley M Jones (CPUT)
2008 Padmaloshnee Moodaly (DUT)
2008 Natasha W Claassens (TUT)
2008 Johannes Du Preez (UFS)
2008 Carien J Schoeman (UP)
2008 Ilona S Koch (US)
2007 Lusani N Vhangani (CPUT)
2007 Zamantshali Mtshali (TUT)
2007 Philip Nel (UFS)
2007 Landi van Zyl (UP)
2007 Megan Whitehead (US)
2006 Loyiso Mtalana (CPUT)
2006 Irene B Cele (TUT)
2006 Carien van Zyl (UFS)
2006 Bheky Sibitani (UJ)
2006 Celeste Pretorius (UP)
2006 Melvi Todd (US)
2005 Sunette v der Merwe (CPUT)
2005 L Mundree (DUT)
2005 Leanne Dickens (UFS)
2005 Mashatole Makunyane (UJ)
2005 Aruina v d Walt (UP)
2005 Marianne Boshoff (US)