Brian Koeppen Memorial Scholarship

Only the Tertiary Institutions listed below may nominate candidates for this award.

To honour the late Professor B H Koeppen who was Head of the Department of Food Science at Stellenbosch University up to his death in 1980, the SAAFoST Foundation has made available two postgraduate scholarships, "THE KOEPPEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIPS", one for a Master's degree programme and one for a doctorate degree programme valued at R 30 000 per annum per scholarship towards tuition fees.

Where a student already has a bursary or other awards which cover part or all of the tuition fees, the scholarship shall be applied towards educational purposes limited to academic conferences, study materials, study visits and research, but only with the prior written approval of the SAAFoST Foundation. In such cases, a letter of invitation from the applicable institution, proof of registration, accepted abstract for a presentation or poster, proof of attendance and a report on the activity undertaken will be required.

Only the Tertiary Institutions listed below may nominate candidates for this scholarship. Names of students registered for Masters and Doctorate degrees in the Departments of Food Science at the Universities of Stellenbosch, Pretoria, Venda and the Free State or the Departments of Food Technology at the Durban University of Technology, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, the Tshwane University of Technology or the University of Johannesburg may be submitted by the respective Department Heads as candidates for this award. Each department may nominate one candidate.


  1. The student must have been a member of SAAFoST for at least one year preceding the application.
  2. The student must have been registered for the relevant postgraduate programme for at least one year before a nomination is made.
  3. The student must be a South African citizen or a permanent resident of South Africa.
  4. The nomination must be accompanied by a progress report approved by the Supervisor of the research work conducted during the previous year.
  5. Nominations and recommendations should also be based on academic excellence in previous degree results.
  6. Nominations, recommendations and the progress report must reach the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer by 15 February

Enquiries and Application Submissions:

Return by e-mail or fax to the Membership Development Officer, by 15 February 2019.

SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
PO Box 35233
Menlo Park
Tel: (012) 349 2788
Fax: (086) 698 4784

Application Administration:


Ensure that you provide the following documentation with the completed nomination form:

  • A copy of nominees' complete academic records of previous degrees;
  • Approved progress report of the research work conducted during the previous year
  • Proof of registration;
  • Proof of SAAFoST membership;
  • A copy of nominees' Identity Documents or proof of South African permanent residence status
  • Proof of any other financial support being received.

CLOSING DATE: 15 February 2019

Nomination Form

Award Recipients

2018 Oluwakemi Adewumi MSc (CPUT)
2018 Neil Miller PhD (SUN)
2017 Lara Alexander, PhD - US
2017 Itumeleng Magabane, MSc - UP
2016 Letitia Shoeman, PHD - US
2016 Neil Miller, MSc - US
2015 Sarah Erasmus - US
2014 Khanyisa Ndleve - UJ
2013 Melanie Richards - UP
2012 Esti-Andrine Smith - UFS
2011 Theresa Beelders - US
2010 Lusani N Vhangani - CPUT
2009 Alex Zabbia - UP
2008 Donna- Maree Cawthorn - US
2007 Lise-Marie Amos - UFS
2006 Mathilda E Mostert - UP
2005 Wineen Duvenhage - US
2004 Lowna-Marie Gie - US
2003 Sune StClaire Botha - US
2002 Robert E Bajner - UP
2001 Marise C Cronje - US
2000 Peter R Vassen - UFS
1999 Belinda van der Merwe - UP
1998 Anine Schoevers - US
1997 Jéanne Calefato - US
1996 Arno Hugo - UFS
1995 Mmathaha Mosala UP
1994 Suretha de Kock - UP
1993 Michiel Erasmus - UP
1992 Bernard Cole - UP
1990 P G Randall - UP
1989 Elizabeth Strydom - UP
1988 C M Joubert - UP
1987 Amanda Minnaar UP
1982 Catherina M duToit US
1981 Catherina M duToit US