Dear Members,

Support the SAAFoST Meritorious Award for Journalism and stand to win some prize money.
All you need do is nominate your favourite article or programme, printed or broadcast during the course of 2016.

A R1,000-00 finder's fee is available to the talented individual who nominates the winning printed article and a further R1,000 is up for grabs for nominator of the best programme broadcast on radio or TV in 2016.

The author of the winning article, hopefully a SAAFoST Member (!) or the presenter of the winning programme will each receive a certificate and cash prize of R6,000!

These Awards were established to recognise any local author of an article or presenter of a programme whose work contributes towards improving the consumer's understanding of topical and contentious food issues. The work must be objective and factually correct and deal with matters relating to food - particularly food safety, processing, additives and the like.

For more info and a nomination form see the SAAFoST website or refer to the notes pasted below for your convenience:

Should you not be sure whether an article or programme is relevant or appropriate, submit it to the National Secretariat anyway for screening and let the adjudication panel decide. You will be contacted in due course to fill in the nomination form if the panel finds the work suitable. Submit several articles or programmes if you like.
The closing date for nominations is Friday 28 April 2017.

By finding and nominating the best articles and programmes of 2016, Members play an important role in influencing the positive outcome of the competition and maintaining the highest possible standards.

Last year's winner:

The prize for the "printed" media category 2015/2016 was awarded to Ivo Vegter for his article, "Fashionable Food Fears", that appeared in the Daily Maverick, on 20 and 26 October 2015. This has been quite an achievement as it is the first time since the inception of the SAAFoST Meritorious Award for Journalism in 1990, that an author has managed to win this Award three times. Congratulations Ivo Vegter!

The winner in the, "electronic" category was Tamara le Pine-Williams, for her fine radio interview with SAAFoST Members, Janusz Luterek and Nigel Sunley, in her programme titled, "Food Preservatives & Food Labelling in South Africa", broadcast on Classic FM in February 2015.

Both of these winning items can be found on the SAAFoST website together with a number of earlier award winning articles and programmes:

If you have queries or comments, please contact me. I look forward with great interest to receiving loads of nominations!
Don't forget to be on the lookout for the best work printed and broadcast in 2017 for next year's competition.

With thanks & best wishes, OJF
Owen Frisby
Tel/fax: (012) 346 2091
Executive Director:

Member Website:
Consumer Website:
Congress 2017 Website:
NPO 013-075



For work published or broadcast in 2016

In the interests of promoting public education on food issues, particularly with respect to Food Safety, Food Additives and Food Processing, SAAFoST has established two Meritorious Awards for Food Science Journalism to recognise those local journalists whose reports are objective and scientifically correct and consequently whose work contributes to sound consumer knowledge and understanding of controversial or complex food issues.
Nominations for the following two categories are invited:
Printed Media
Electronic Media
Details of the awards follow. Nomination forms together with a copy/recording of the article/programme should be sent to:
The SAAFoST National Secretariat (Attn: Virosha Basdeo)
c/o Turners Conferences
PO Box 4507, Durban 4000
Tel: (031) 368 8000
Fax: (031) 368 5100
Closing date for nominations: Friday 28 April 2017

This award is open to articles or programmes originating in South Africa and covering any issue related to Food Science and Technology (with the exception of purely nutritional issues) which are: i) Published in South African newspapers, magazines, periodicals or websites, ii) Broadcast on South African radio or television, iii) Directed at the general public or a section of the public (Trade and House Magazines are excluded), iv) Published or broadcast during the calendar year 2016 and v) Which have not received any other awards.

Entries may be submitted by any journalist, author, publishing house, media department or member of SAAFoST.
Nominees must accept nomination by signing the nomination form.

Entries and nominations will be adjudicated by a panel consisting of the following, or similar individuals, depending on availability: the Association's President, the Vice-President, the President Elect and three other members appointed by the Executive Committee of the SAAFoST Council. The panel may refer an entry to an expert in the field for evaluation but such expert will not form part of the adjudication panel.

Nature of the award
Two Meritorious Awards are offered, one for the printed, the other for the electronic media. They will take the form of a certificate and a cash prize of R 6,000 each. A "Finders" fee of R1,000 will be awarded to each of the finders in the "published" and the "broadcast" categories. If the winning item is submitted by more than one "finder", the fee will go to the first submission received by the National Secretariat. The presentation of the awards will be made annually by the President or a Council member at a SAAFoST function if possible. The travelling and accommodation expenses of recipients will be met by SAAFoST where necessary. The panel may also decide to award Certificates of Merit to other deserving entrants. No cash prizes apply to the latter.

Nomination form available here:


Meritorious Award for Journalism - winners to date:
i) Ivo Vegter (Daily Maverick) Printed Media
ii) Tamara le Pine-Williams (Classic FM) Electronic Media
2013/14 Robyn Maclarty (Fair Lady)
2012/13 Ivo Vegter (The Daily Maverick)
i) Catherine Boome (Business Day) Printed media
ii) Karen Key (SAfm) Electronic media
2010/11 Ivo Vegter (Daily Maverick)
2009/10 Lydia van der Merwe (Sarie Magazine)
2008/09 Dr Ingrid van Heerden (DietDoc)
2007/08 Jane Badham (Shape Magazine)
i) Carol Browne (Weighless Magazine)
ii) Hantie Schrader (SABC 2, Focus) Electronic media
2005/06 Dr Carl Albrecht (Die Burger)
2004/05 Dr Penny Love (Weighless Magazine)
2003/04 Taryn Lamberti (Femina)
1999/00 Freek Robinson (SABC 2, Focus) Electronic media
1990/00 Prof Jennifer Thomson (Sunday Times)
1994/95 Gudrun Kaiser (Fair Lady)
1990/91 Debbie Collings (Fair Lady)
Merit Certificates
2007/08 Lyse Comins: (The Mercury)
2002/03 Karin D'Orville: (SABC 2, Focus) Electronic
1999/00 June Bearzi: (The Star)
1994/95 Madeleine de Villiers (SA Food & Home)
i) Debbie Collings (Fair Lady)
ii) Madeleine de Villiers: (SA Food & Home)
iii) Jill Dunstone (Health Talk)