Nominations for President Elect and Vice President

14 June 2021

Dear SAAFoST Member,

Call for Nominations for President Elect and Vice President

As per the SAAFoST Constitution, nominations are hereby invited for the position of President Elect and a Vice President of the Association for the period 2021 - 2023. The President Elect will assume office in September 2021, during the SAAFoST Congress at SAAFoST Virtual Congress and will become President of the Association for the period 2023 - 2025. The Vice President who is elected will also assume office in September 2021 and will serve until Congress 2023 in about September of that year.

Nomination of Office Bearers

Any Voting Member in good standing may nominate these candidates and is entitled to vote in a subsequent ballot should one be necessary. This notice is being sent to Voting Members only, therefore anyone receiving this letter, via his/her personal e-mail address and receiving it directly from the SAAFoST National Secretary, is entitled to nominate now and participate in the ballot that will follow later.

Procedure & Eligibility

If you would like to nominate someone for either or both positions, please make use of the nomination form that is available here: Click or from the SAAFoST National Secretary. The form must be signed by those nominated to the effect that they accept the nomination - please print and scan as necessary. Candidates for these positions must be SAAFoST Professional Members or Honorary Life Members. Seconders of the nominations must be SAAFoST Voting Members. Curricula vitae must please accompany all nominations. Contact the National Secretariat to see whether your candidate is eligible.

Closing Date and Addresses for Nomination Forms

Nominations for the new officials close on Monday, 12 July 2021 at 17:00, after which a national ballot will take place. Please have the nomination form completed and forward it to the SAAFoST National Secretary - preferably by e-mail (sharonb@turnerssecretariat.co.za) but also by fax (086 664 4764) or by post (not recommended!) to: The SAAFoST National Secretary, P O Box 4507, Durban. 4000.

Current SAAFoST Presidents

The current SAAFoST President is James McLean, the current Vice President is Prof Riette de Kock. Both terms of office end during the SAAFoST Congress in September 2021. The current President Elect is Prof Elna Buys, who will become SAAFoST President during the Congress.

SAAFoST President Stature

The role of the President of an organization with the stature of SAAFoST, is one of great prestige but also one of great responsibility as his/her role is to lead the Association and speak nationally and internationally on its behalf. The President is also a peer amongst the leaders in food science and technology of other countries and as such, needs to be conversant in food science and technology and well versed in the management and history of SAAFoST by, for example, having served on a Branch committee and on the SAAFoST Council, which is the governing body of SAAFoST.

The SAAFoST Council

Current SAAFoST Council Members are: James McLean (President), Prof Riette de Kock (Vice President and Treasurer), Prof Elna Buys (President Elect), Prof Lucia Anelich (Past President), Ingrid Woodrow (Northern Branch Chair), Madelein Jansen (KZN Branch Chair), Lisa Ronquest-Ross (Cape Branch Chair), Dr Gerda Botha (SACNASP Representative), Emma Johnson (MySAAFoST & Cape Branch Vice Chair), Deon Gallus (Northern Branch Vice Chair) Prof Gunnar Sigge and Susan Featherstone (CEO).

By order of the SAAFoST National Secretariat
14 June 2021

Click here for the nomination form