Only for full time students.

The SAAFoST Foundation makes available an Aubrey Parsons study grant for each of the Departments of Food Science at the Universities of Stellenbosch, Pretoria, Venda and the Free State and the Departments of Food Technology at Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, the Tshwane University of Technology and the University of Johannesburg, based on performance, to the total value of R20 000 each, for the B.Sc (Hons) year(s) at Universities or the B-Tech year(s) at Universities of Technology. However, irrespective of how many years said B.Sc (Hons) or B.Tech actually take only a total of R 20 000 will be made available to a student.


The students must have been members of SAAFoST for at least 12 months preceding the application. Nominations and recommendations by the Department Heads, based firstly on academic excellence and secondly, on need, must reach the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer by 15 February each year. The students should have an undisputed record of academic distinction, and maintain an average of at least 70% in their previous academic years. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee’s academic record for the previous academic years. Only one student per Tertiary Institution can be nominated and awards cannot be shared and are not transferable.

The SAAFoST Foundation will adjudicate the nominations and their decision will be final. The award will be presented at a meeting of the local branch of SAAFoST or at another suitable SAAFoST event. Payment will be made to the institution towards the fees.


Download the nomination form in Adobe PDF format or MS Word format.

Closing date for applications is 15 February 2020.

Ensure that you provide the following documentation with the completed nomination form:

  • A copy of nominees complete academic record for all previous years;
  • Proof of Full time registration.

Return by e-mail or fax to the Membership Development Officer, by 15 February 2020.
SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
PO Box 35233
Menlo Park
Tel: (012) 349 2788
Fax: (086) 698 4784
E-mail: saafost.irene@telkomsa.net

Award recipients

2018 – Aphelele Pandle (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2018 – Rohde Binneman (University of the Free State)
2018 – Kamogelo Nkgodi (University of Johannesburg)
2018 – Anhony Jenvey (University of Pretoria)
2018 – Cashior Setumo (Tshwane University of Technology)
2018 – Emma van der Merwe (Stellenbosch University)
2017 – Ukhona Zwane (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2017 – Quraisha Akoo (Durban University of Technology)
2017 – Zanele Mnizi (University of Johannesburg)
2017 – Kgomotso Dhlanagamandla (University of Pretoria)
2017 – Rochelle Keet (Stellenbosch University)
2016 – Dalene Marshall (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2016 – Katlego Masebe (University of Johannesburg)
2016 – Sibongile Mndebele (University of Pretoria)
2016 – Kate Turner (Stellenbosch University)
2016 – Khudtadzo Ngoma (University of Venda)
2015 – Tumelo Shokwe (University of Johannesburg)
2015 – Megan Twentyman-Jones (Stellenbosch University)
2015 – Nkatuku Huma (Durban University of Technology)
2015 – Claudia Amorim(University of Pretoria)
2015 – Joelle Kongolo (Tshwane University of Technology)
2014 – Nettania Blom (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2014 – Neil Miller (Stellenbosch University)
2014 – Majolie Djokam-Kamga (Tshwane University of Technology)
2013 – Yvonne Maphosa (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2013 – Khanyisa Ndleve (University of Johannesburg)
2013 – Malgorzata Milaniak (University of Pretoria)
2013 – Margareta Muller (Stellenbosch University)
2013 – Nomsa Chimuti (University of Venda)
2012 – Vusi Mshayisa (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2012 – Sharon Masina (Durban University of Technology)
2012 – Gabatshoane Madisa (University of Johannesburg)
2012 – Richard Beardsley (University of Pretoria)
2012 – Sarah Erasmus (Stellenbosch University)
2011 – Yourisha Pillay (Durban University of Technology)
2011 – Kudzai Mangoma (University of Pretoria)
2011 – Karo Bester (Stellenbosch University)
2009 – Thando Culayo (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2009 – Romy Hochfeld (University of Pretoria)
2009 – Lehana Steyn (Stellenbosch University)
2008 – Kimberley M Jones (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2008 – Padmaloshnee Moodaly (Durban University of Technology)
2008 – Natasha W Claassens (Tshwane University of Technology)
2008 – Johannes Du Preez (University of the Free State)
2008 – Carien J Schoeman (University of Pretoria)
2008 – Ilona S Koch (Stellenbosch University)
2007 – Lusani N Vhangani (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2007 – Zamantshali Mtshali (Tshwane University of Technology)
2007 – Philip Nel (University of the Free State)
2007 – Landi van Zyl (University of Pretoria)
2007 – Megan Whitehead (Stellenbosch University)
2006 – Loyiso Mtalana (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2006 – Irene B Cele (Tshwane University of Technology)
2006 – Carien van Zyl (University of the Free State)
2006 – Bheky Sibitani (University of Johannesburg)
2006 – Celeste Pretorius (University of Pretoria)
2006 – Melvi Todd (Stellenbosch University)
2005 – Sunette v der Merwe (Cape Peninsula University of Technology)
2005 – L Mundree (Durban University of Technology)
2005 – Leanne Dickens (University of the Free State)
2005 – Mashatole Makunyane (University of Johannesburg)
2005 – Aruina v d Walt (University of Pretoria)
2005 – Marianne Boshoff (Stellenbosch University)