A Board of Trustees has been set up, headed by David Watson, MD of Sunspray Food Ingredients and a former SAAFoST President (2005-2007). The other trustees are Lucia Anelich, Owner of Anelich Consulting specialising in food safety issues and Chair Elect of the Scientific Council of IUFoST, Janusz Luterek, a senior partner of Hahn & Hahn, Patent Attorneys and Francina Makhoane, Head of the Food Safety Initiative at the Consumer Goods Council of South Africa, an industry association.

We believe that the Board is well balanced with experienced business people, who have operated in the food industry for most of their business careers; legal and regulatory expertise, particularly in Food Law which is a great asset to the Board and useful academic experience.

Irene Burke, the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer, is assisting the Board with the administration of the bursaries, which includes the selection of suitable candidates, liaises with the tertiary institutions and monitoring of the students’ progress. In 2014, the Foundation is administering 9 bursaries funded by the Foundation and 6 bursaries funded by companies operating in the Food Industry. The Board of Trustees is striving to get other food industry businesses to award bursaries which can be administered by the Foundation free of charge. Any interested companies may contact any of the Trustees.

David Watson, 082 900 1251, david.watson@sunspray.co.za
Lucia Anelich, 082 908 3166, la@anelichconsulting.co.za
Janusz Luterek, 083 250 1830, janusz@hahn.co.za
Francina Makhoane, 083 232 2815, francinam@cgcsa.co.za