Only the Tertiary Institutions listed below may nominate candidates for this award.

To honour the late Professor B H Koeppen who was Head of the Department of Food Science at Stellenbosch University up to his death in 1980, the SAAFoST Foundation has made available two postgraduate scholarships, “The Koeppen Memorial Scholarships”, one for a Master’s degree programme and one for a doctorate degree programme valued at R 35 000 per annum per scholarship towards tuition fees.

Where a student already has a bursary or other awards which cover part or all of the tuition fees, the scholarship shall be applied towards educational purposes limited to academic conferences, study materials, study visits and research, but only with the prior written approval of the SAAFoST Foundation. In such cases, a letter of invitation from the applicable institution, proof of registration, accepted abstract for a presentation or poster, proof of attendance and a report on the activity undertaken will be required.

Only the Tertiary Institutions listed below may nominate candidates for this scholarship. Names of students registered for Masters and Doctorate degrees in the Departments of Food Science at the Universities of Stellenbosch, Pretoria, Venda and the Free State or the Departments of Food Technology at the Durban University of Technology, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, the Tshwane University of Technology or the University of Johannesburg may be submitted by the respective Department Heads as candidates for this award. Each department may nominate one candidate.


  • The student must have been a member of SAAFoST for at least one year preceding the application.
  • The student must have been registered for the relevant postgraduate programme for at least one year before a nomination is made.
  • The student must be a South African citizen or a permanent resident of South Africa.
  • The nomination must be accompanied by a progress report approved by the Supervisor of the research work conducted during the previous year.
  • Nominations and recommendations should also be based on academic excellence in previous degree results.
  • Nominations, recommendations and the progress report must reach the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer by 15 February.


Download the nomination form in Adobe PDF format or MS Word format.

Closing Date: 15 February 2024

Ensure that you provide the following documentation with the completed nomination form:

  • A copy of nominees’ complete academic records of previous degrees;
  • Approved progress report of the research work conducted during the previous year
  • Proof of registration;
  • Proof of SAAFoST membership;
  • A copy of nominees’ Identity Documents or proof of South African permanent residence status
  • Proof of any other financial support being received.

Return by e-mail to the Membership Development Officer, by 15 February 2023.
SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
Tel: 071 870 2633
E-mail: irene@saafost.org.za

Award recipients

Year Name University
2019 Nico Walters (PhD) SUN
2019 Kgothatso Tlhapi (MSc) TUT
2018 Oluwakemi Adewumi (MSc) CPUT
2018 Neil Miller (PhD) SUN
2017 Lara Alexander (PhD) SUN
2017 Itumeleng Magabane (MSc) UP
2016 Letitia Schoeman (PhD) SUN
2016 Neil Miller (MSc) SUN
2015 Sarah Erasmus SUN
2014 Khanyisa Ndleve UJ
2013 Melanie Richards UP
2012 Esti-Andrine Smith UFS
2011 Theresa Beelders SUN
2010 Paul Williams SUN
2009 Alex Zabia UP
2008 Donna-Maree Cawthorn SUN
2007 Lise-Marie Amos UFS
2006 Mathilda Mostert UP
2005 Wineen Duvenage SUN
2004 Lowna-Marie Gie SUN
2003 Sune St Claire Botha SUN
2002 Robert E Bajner UP
2001 Marise C Cronje SUN
2000 Peter R Vassen UFS
1999 Belinda van der Merwe UP
1998 Anine Schoevers SUN
1997 Jeanne Calefato SUN
1996 Arno Hugo UFS
1995 Mmathaha Mosala UP
1994 Suretha de Kock UP
1993 Michiel Erasmus UP
1992 Bernard Cole UP
1990 P G Randall UP
1989 Elizabeth Strydom UP
1988 C M Joubert UP
1987 Amanda Minnaar UP
1982 Catherina M du Toit SUN
1881 Catherina M du Toit SUN