The South African Association for Food Science and Technology (SAAFoST) Foundation is inviting interested students to apply for full term bursaries in the field of Food Science and Technology. SAAFoST Foundation is offering bursaries for full-time undergraduate food science and technology students, awarded on the basis of academic merit, employment equity, and demonstrated potential.


The selection of candidates is based on the following criteria:

  • Preference will be given to students who excel academically and / or demonstrate potential.
  • Applicants must be enrolled for full time undergraduate study for a first degree or diploma in the field of Food Science and Technology at a South African Tertiary Institution, and be in a position to complete his / her chosen study programme within the prescribed period of the relevant South AfricanTertiary institution or following period:
    Undergraduate Degree (up to B.Sc (Hons) – 4 years
    B. Degree – 4 years or Higher Diploma
    B. Degree – 3 years
  • Applicants must be South African or permanent resident citizens who have been resident in South Africa for at least 3 years prior to application.
  • Applicants must have been a member of SAAFoST for at least 12 months preceding the application.
  • Applicants will be required to provide a written personal statement of not more than 1 A4 page outlining how their education and training in the field of food science and technology will make a positive difference in their lives and in the scientific community.
  • Applicants will be required to submit a reference that speaks of the applicant’s character. The reference letter will be written by someone at the Tertiary institution who has known the applicant in a learning capacity.
  • Applications will be reviewed by the SAAFoST Foundation, whose decision is final and binding.

Bursary package

The bursary includes financial assistance for the following:

  • Actual tuition fees levied by the tertiary institution as per a statement of account issued by the institution in the name of the student up to a maximum of R40 000.00 per annum until graduation. The payment is made directly to the Tertiary institution yearly in two installments; the first installment being subject to a satisfactory final mark for the previous year of study and the second installment being subject to satisfactory results in the first semester.

Bursary conditions

  • The student will be required to sign a contract as acceptance of and agreement to the conditions outlined below:
  • Granting of bursaries is not automatic and SAAFoST Foundation reserves the right not to award a bursary.
  • Only students who apply within the specified date and have fully completed the required application forms and whose registrations have been accepted by a university will be considered.
  • The student will be required to provide the SAAFoST Foundation with a six monthly report and exam results outlining the highlights of the year’s study including participation in SAAFoST activities.
  • The bursary will at the sole discretion of the SAAFoST Foundation be converted into a loan repayable in equal instalments, as determined by the SAAFoST Foundation, at the prime rate of interest if, without formal permission of the SAAFoST Foundation:
    • The student terminates or interrupts his / her studies, without formal permission for the interruption of studies
    • The student does not complete his / her studies within the period stated above
    • The student fails any year or semester of study.
  • Should the recipient not successfully complete all of the stipulated courses in any bursary year or not successfully complete any outstanding subjects as supplementary examinations prior to the commencement of the following academic year, then at the sole discretion of the SAAFoST Foundation the bursary may be suspended for the following year with the proviso that, should the recipient successfully complete all of the courses in that subsequent year including any carried over courses from the previous year, then the SAAFoST Foundation will refund to the recipient, all suspended tuition fees and the bursary shall then continue as before, however, no repeated courses, subjects, or modules shall be paid for by the SAAFoST Foundation.


Download the application form in Adobe PDF format or MS Word format.

Closing date for applications: 31 January 2025
Review period: February
Award announcement: March

Ensure that you provide the following with your completed application form:

  • A head and shoulders passport-size photograph of yourself
  • A certified copy of your ID book or RSA passport
  • A certified copy of your most recent academic results (Part C)
  • Personal Statement (Part D)
  • Reference Letter (Part D)
  • Proof of registration at Tertiary Institution for 2024

Completed applications must be e-mailed to the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer:
SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
Tel: 071 870 2633
E-mail: irene@saafost.org.za

Bursaries awarded

Name University Duration
Jani-Marie Steyn SUN 2024-2025
Raeesa Kola UP 2024
Jana Fourie UP 2024-2026
Larene Oosthuizen UP 2024-2026
Nicola Goosen SUN 2022-2024
Nika Botha SUN 2022
Lethabo Nyama UJ 2022-2023
Lottie van Niekerk SUN 2022
Anike Kemp SUN 2022-2023
Esme Broeksma SUN 2022
Wayne Lindeque CPUT 2022-2024
Lesedi Kubayi UJ 2021-2022
Lindokuhle B Ndlovu UP 2021
Jessica Lotter SUN 2021-2022
Michaela Skinner UP 2021-2022
Danelle Bosman SUN 2021-2022
Jesse Vosloo SUN 2021-2022
Lebo L Phasha UP 2020
Saskia Pillay SUN 2020
Koketso Masilela SUN 2020-2021
Lara Harris SUN 2020-2021
Juanita Botha SUN 2020-2021
Talani van Schalkwyk SUN 2020-2021
Chane Steyn SUN 2020-2021
Rohde Binneman UFS 2018
Masego Ntlele UJ 2018
Nomthandezo Msimango UJ 2018 – 2019
Karabo Mokone UP 2018
Nthabiseng Mokoena TUT 2018 – 2019
Anika van der Mescht SUN 2018 – 2019
Natasha Simpungwe SUN 2018 – 2019
Marbi Schwartz SUN 2018 – 2019
Clearence Ndubane TUT 2017 – 2020
Adriana du Plessis UP 2017
Dewald Uys UP 2017
Kgomotso Modike UJ 2017
Maikemisetso Thabakgale UJ 2017
Kayla Steyn SUN 2016 – 2017
Paula Smit SUN 2016 – 2017
Rochelle Keet SUN 2016 – 2017
Clarice Gomes SUN 2016 – 2017
Courtney van der Westhuizen UP 2016 – 2017
Sylvia Mnisi UJ 2016
Shanece Ramkisson DUT 2016
Tremaine Naiker DUT 2016
Christine van Niekerk SUN 2015
Ndamulelo Phongo UJ 2015 – 2016
Minenhle Khoza UJ 2015
Nonsikelelo Nkomo DUT 2015 – 2016
Tumisang Leso TUT 2014 -2018
Kirstin Mapstone SUN 2014
Lindsay Hogg UP 2014
Tumelo Shokwe UJ 2014 – 2015
Felix Bekker SUN 2013 – 2014
Mswanele Stoto CPUT 2013 – 2015
Francois Olivier SUN 2012 – 2012
Fiona Rolstone SUN 2011 – 2012
Stephanie Bosman SUN 2010 – 2012