The SAAFoST Foundation makes available an award of a certificate and an amount of R2 000 annually for the most deserving students at each of eight South African tertiary institutions.

Awards are based on results obtained in the final year of study, for a completed first degree in Food Science from the Universities of Pretoria, Stellenbosch, Venda and the Free State or a completed diploma in Food Technology at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, the Tshwane University of Technology and the University of Johannesburg. Only the Tertiary Institutions listed above may nominate candidates for this award.


The students must have been members of SAAFoST for at least 12 months preceding the application. Nominations and recommendations by the Department Heads, based on academic excellence must reach the SAAFoST Membership Development Officer by 15 February each year. The student should have a record of academic distiction and maintain an average of at least 70% in their previous academic year. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee’s academic record for the final year of study. Only one student per tertiary Institution can be nominated and awards cannot be shared and are not transferable. The SAAFoST Foundation will adjudicate the nominations and their decision will be final. The award will be presented at a meeting of the local branch of SAAFoST or at another suitable SAAFoST event. Payment will be made to the nominee.


Download the nomination form in Adobe PDF format or MS Word format.

The closing date for applications is 15 February 2024.

Ensure that you provide the following documentation with the completed nomination form:

  • A copy of the nominee’s complete academic record for all the previous study years.

Return by e-mail to the Membership Development Officer, by 15 February 2024.
SAAFoST Membership Development Officer
Tel: 071 870 2633
E-mail: irene@saafost.org.za

Award recipients

Year Name University
2019 Nikita Jansen van Rensburg CPUT
2019 Rhode Binneman UFS
2019 Nthabiseng Mokoena UJ
2019 Carina Mendes UP
2019 Kamagelo Kgasago TUT
2019 Emma van der Merwe SUN
2018 Aphelele Pandle CPUT
2018 Toluwase Adedoja UFS
2018 Kamogelo Nkgodi UJ
2018 Anthony Jenvey UP
2018 Banza Kalenga TUT
2018 Rochelle Keet SUN
2017 Jolene van der Merwe CPUT
2017 Rita Myburgh UFS
2017 Unarine Ndau UJ
2017 Kgomotso Dhlanagamandla UP
2017 Kate Turner SUN
2016 Dalene Marshall CPUT
2016 Sylvia Mnisi UJ
2016 Sibongile Mndebele UP
2016 Megan Twentyman-Jones SUN
2015 Lebohang Matsoso UJ
2015 Janie van Deventer SUN
2015 Precious Xulu DUT
2015 Tine-Marie Barnard CPUT
2015 Claudia Amorim UP
2014 Nettania Blom CPUT
2014 Malgarzata Milaniak UP
2014 Francois Olivier SUN
2014 Joelle Kongolo TUT
2013 Yvonne Maphoza CPUT
2013 Motsiri Lebea UJ
2013 Malory Links UP
2013 Stephanie Bosman SUN
2012 Riana van Rensburg CPUT
2012 Zanele Shongwe DUT
2012 Jeremiah Molelekoa TUT
2012 Gabatshoane Modisa UJ
2012 Courtney Robertson UP
2012 Melanie Pitout SUN
2011 Mmaphuti Ratau CPUT
2011 Sharon Masina DUT
2011 Moses Madende UFS
2011 Petra Muller UP
2011 Nina van Schalkwyk SUN
2010 Ruth L Rother CPUT
2010 Romy Hochfeld UP
2010 Lehana Steyn SUN
2009 Kimberley Jones CPUT
2009 Johannes J du Preez UFS
2009 Geraldine Duhain UP
2009 Ilona Koch SUN
2008 Lusani N Vhangani CPUT
2008 Roohee Cassim DUT
2008 Philip Nel UFS
2008 Landi van Zyl UP
2008 Megan Whitehead SUN
2008 Ronel Olivier TUT
2007 Loyisa Mtalana CPUT
2007 Leanne Dickens UFS
2007 Celeste Pretorius UP
2007 Melvi Todd SUN
2006 Andrea Walter CPUT
2006 Korisha Nair DUT
2006 Lutendo Nemugumoni UFS
2006 Mandisa Mlawuza UJ
2006 Aruina van der Walt UP
2006 Donna-Maree Cawthorn SUN
2006 Silnia Badenhorst TUT
2005 Danie Jansen van Rensburg CPUT
2005 Selelo Sekgala CPUT
2005 Thomas Steynberg UFS
2005 Muneera Said UJ
2005 Francel Lamprecht UP
2005 Kelly J Wainwright SUN