This award, which was approved by the Council in 2002, is to honour an individual or an organisation that has made a significant contribution towards the achievement of SAAFoST’s vision and mission of advancing food science and related technologies for the supply of wholesome food.

The award is made biennially and both members and non-members are eligible.

Nominations may be made by any member and these will be judged by the President.

The recipient receives a framed certificate which is presented at the banquet held during the biennial congress.

Award recipients

2023 Delene Boshoff

2021 Lucia Anelich

2019 Janusz F. Luterek

2017 – David Watson

2015 – Owen Frisby

2013 – W Aubrey Parsons

2010 – Woolworths Food Technology and NPD Departments

2007 – DSM Nutritional Products, South Africa

2005 – Orley Foods

2003 – Nampak Research and Development